Life Saver Award - Sheriff's Department


Jail Kitchen updates

Kitchen #2.JPG  kitchen #3.JPG

The jail kitchen staff has been busy cleaning and refreshing the kitchen after the recent 

jail fire.  Many updates have been made throughout the jail in preparing for inmates.

Presentation of Donations


Brent Cline, representative of Tenaska, presented a $15,000 donation to the County Commission.

Ministry Center.jpgNorthwest Ag Center.jpg

The Commission presented a $2,500 check to Pastor Kim Mitchell and Merlin Atkins, representatives of The Ministry Center.  A $12,500 donation check was presented to Rod Barr, Mitzi Marchant and Dr. John Jasinski, representatives of the Northwest Ag Center.

Life Saver Award - Sheriff's Department

Lifesaver #5.jpg Lifesaver #3.jpg

Life Saver Awards were presented to Deputy Jesse Bolin, Detective Travis Cochenour, Jailer Madison Morgan and Jailer Ty Sturgeon for their part in assisting in clearing inmates from the county jail the evening of January 14, 2021 jail fire.  Awards were presented by Sheriff Randy Strong.

2021 Office Holders Swearing-in Ceremony

2021 New Office Holders.jpg

2021 Office Holders sworn in.  Front row:  Dee O'Riley, Public Administrator and Marilyn Jenkins, Collector/Treasurer.  Back row:  Judge Robert Rice, who conducted the swearing in ceremony, Rex Wallace, Assessor; Scott Walk, South District Commissioner; Chris Burns, North District Commissioner and Randy Strong, Sheriff.

Welcome to Nodaway County, Missouri

Nodaway County was Incorporated in 1845 with the county seat located in Maryville, MO. Our current classification is -- Third Class County Township Government. Our 2010 Census population is 23,370 with an assessed valuation of $313,975,586 (2013). With 14 elected Officials our county consists of Agricultural and Industrial Businesses.

state-bird.jpgMissouri State Bird - Blue Bird



Nodaway County, Missouri Facts

Missouri State Flag

The area which became Nodaway County was once a part of Indian lands covered with tall waving prairie grasses on the uplifts or "narrows".  Imagine the vast prairies heavy with game and uncluttered by trees, except along the three north-to-south rivers and the small creeks!

Missouri territory became a state in 1821, but the Indians still held the triangle to the northwest, which contained very fertile and desirable land.




Bridge Replacement Grants funded. Read about it here.

Great news!  The State Emergency Management Agency (SEMA) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) have approved the Nodaway County Multi-jurisdictional Hazard Mitigation Plan Update.  The Plan will be in effect for five years and will expire September 12, 2023. 

Click here to read the plan.